• William P. Tew, Ph.D.
    William P. Tew, Ph.D. Chief Executive Officer

    Dr. Tew is leading GlycoMira Therapeutics. He has over 40 years of experience as an entrepreneurial executive – a former founder/Chairman/CEO of Chesapeake Biological Laboratories (Baltimore, MD), Glycosan BioSystems (now part of BioTime, Alameda, CA). Dr. Tew served as Chief Commercial Officer at BioTime until recently. He held a position at Johns Hopkins University as Associate Provost and Assistant Dean of Technology Licensing.

  • Thomas Heath, MBA
    Thomas Heath, MBA Chairman

    Thomas Heath, M.B.A. is the Chairman of GlycoMira Therapeutics. Before joining GlycoMira, Tom Heath served as Senior Vice President at NPS Pharmaceutials. He was a Founder-Director-President at Echelon Biosciences and also was Pharmaceutical Division Manager at Pfizer (Montreal, Canada). Mr. Heath received his MBA from the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah.

  • Glenn Prestwich, Ph.D. Chief Scientific Officer
    Dr. Prestwich is Presidential Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Presidential Special Assistant for Faculty Entrepreneurism at the University of Utah. Dr. Prestwich is a distinguished scholar in hyaluronan derivatives for tissue engineering and reparative medicine. He is a co-founder of Echelon Biosciences, Sentrix Animal Care, and Glycosan BioSystems (currently BioTime). He received his Ph.D. from Stanford University and B.S. from Caltech in chemistry.
  • Thomas Kennedy, M.D.
    Thomas Kennedy, M.D. Chief Medical Officer
    Thomas Kennedy, M.D. A co-founder of GlycoMira Therapeutics, Dr. Kennedy is a Professor of Medicine at Tulane University School of Medicine. Dr. Kennedy’s research is a leading expert in heparinoid compounds to treat human diseases. He is one of our major driving forces in research and development. Dr. Kennedy received his medical degree from Vanderbilt University and MPH from Johns Hopkins University.

Research and Development

  • Won Yong Lee, D.V.M., Ph.D. Director of Research

    Dr. Lee is leading our R&D. He has extensive experiences in drug development that he built during his career in Korea. In addition, Dr. Lee is an expert in molecular biophysics that greatly benefits GlycoMira’s scientific mission. Dr. Lee received his Ph.D. in molecular neuroscience from Mayo Clinic, his D.V.M. and Master’s in toxicology from Konkuk University (Korea).

  • Justin R. Savage, Ph.D.
    Justin R. Savage, Ph.D. Director of Operations

    Dr. Savage is Director of Operations for GlycoMira Therapeutics, Inc. and has been operating the Company. He has over 10 years of experience in proteomics and drug development. Dr. Savage received his B.A. degree in chemistry from Southern Utah University and his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from Brigham Young University.

  • Abigail Pulsipher, Ph.D. Director of Glycobiology Research

    Dr. Pulsipher leads our glycobiology research and heads CMC. Her expertise include in organic synthesis, chemical biology, and glycosaminoglycan biology. Dr. Pulsipher received her Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and completed her Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) postdoctoral research at Caltech in chemical neurobiology.


Advisory Board

  • Charles Ryan, J.D., Ph.D.
    Charles Ryan, J.D., Ph.D.

    Dr. Ryan, J.D., Ph.D. is the Senior Vice President and Chief Intellectual Property Counsel for Forest Laboratories, Inc. and serves on the Board of Directors for GlycoMira.

  • Jeremiah Alt, M.D., Ph.D.
    Jeremiah Alt, M.D., Ph.D.

    Dr. Alt is an Assistant Professor of Surgery (Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Division) at the University of Utah. More info.

  • Siam Oottamasathien, M.D.

    Dr. Oottamasathien, M.D. is an Associate Professor of Surgery at the University of Utah and Primary Childrens’ Medical Center Intermountain Health Care. More info.